The 2022 KRHA Restaurant Awards honor many Wichita winners

Meddys owner Alex Harb, center, was named Restaurateur of the Year at the KRHA Stars of the Industry Awards on Monday.

Meddys owner Alex Harb, center, was named Restaurateur of the Year at the KRHA Stars of the Industry Awards on Monday.

It’s been two COVID-cautious years since the Kansas Restaurant & Hospitality Association hosted its Stars of The Industry awards banquet, but on Monday night the event returned — and several Wichita restaurants, chefs and culinary professionals were recognized.

The awards ceremony returned to the Kansas Star Casino, and attendees enjoyed food from local restaurants and watched awards being presented in categories such as Restaurateur of the Year, Chef of the Year and Hot New Concept.

In most categories, restaurants had to be members of KRHA to win. One category – Hot New Concept – is also open to non-members.

Below is a list of the winners and some of the nominees:

restaurateur of the year

This award is given to a restaurateur who is committed to the community and/or KRHA:

Winner: Alex Harb, Meddys – Five Wichita Locations: Harb, who opened his fifth Wichita Meddys in seven years in December 2021, is also known for hosting fundraisers for victims of crime and natural disasters.

Other nominees:

Janez Lomshek, Talk of the Town, Overland Park

Jay IvesBlind Tiger, Topeka

Mike ThalerAustin’s Bar & Grill, Independence

Hot new concept

This award recognizes a restaurant concept that is a “future-focused brand at the forefront of gastronomy and poised for growth.”

Winner: First Mile Kitchen, 2141 N. Bradley Fair Parkway: Nick Korbee and Amanda Luginbill opened this upscale Bradley Fair restaurant in January and added a sister restaurant, First Mile Cantine, in June.

Other nominees:

Urban Eggoverland park



Buck Tui BBQoverland park

Wandering Vineshawnee

chef of the year

This award recognizes a working chef who has “set new or enduring standards of excellence in the Kansas food scene.”

Winner: Carl Thorne-Thomsen, Story Restaurant, Prairie Village: The chef/owner of this popular Kansas City area restaurant has also been a finalist for James Beard on more than one occasion

Other nominees:

Carlos SanchezRolling Hills Country Club, Wichita

Jeremy WadeNaples, Wichita

Patrick ShibleyDoo-Dah Diner, Wichita

Peter MorettiMarriott, Wichita

heart of the industry

This award recognizes “an employee who works hard to ensure the smooth running of the restaurant or hotel and exemplifies reliability, teamwork and dedication to the industry.”

Winner: Devin Slane, operations manager at local Doc Green’s restaurants, and Gale Cowan, a longtime waiter at the Old Mill Tasty Shop in Wichita:

Other nominees:

David ThompsonTeacher’s Pizza, Wichita

Dwaine HoodBull Creek Distillery, Spring Hill

hall of fame

Winner: Bill Rowe, Blue Moon Caterers: Rowe is a longtime Wichita restaurateur who founded Willie C’s in 1985 and eventually bought Red Bean’s Bayou Grill. He has been running Blue Moon Caterers since 2002.

Hotelier of the Year

Winner: Bill Michaud, Sleep Inn and Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Fort Scott and Atchison

Prostart Mentor of the Year

These nominees are people who help train aspiring school cooks in Kansas through a program called ProStart.

Winner: Patrick Shibley, Doo-Dah Diner, Wichita

Other candidate: Ben George, Intrust Bank Arena

Prostart Teacher of the Year

This award honors a teacher at a Kansas public school who offers classes to aspiring chefs.

Winner: Bill Loudermilk, Wichita East High School

Denise Neil has been in the restaurant and entertainment business since 1997. Her Facebook page, Dining with Denise, is the go-to place for guests to find information about local restaurants. She is a regular judge at local food competitions and speaks about food with groups across Wichita.

About Gloria Skelton

Check Also

Netflix has aired The Crown for the first time since Queen’s death

Imelda Staunton, Jonathan Pryce and Lesley Manville play Queen Elizabeth, Prince Philip and Princess Margaret …